This little guy is the reason I wake up in the morning. Whether I want to wake up is another story. He is such an intense and smart boy. On some days I feel like I can’t keep up and I’m trained as a teacher! Being an educator has immensely helped me in how I approach my son. I think I fret less about his developmental milestones and have learned that some children are just quick as lighting in acquiring new skills while others are more thoughtful and introverted. Being a teacher is one thing, but being a mother throws in a different element. I find that if your child is temperamentally different from you, and mine definitely goes to the beat of his own drummer, than all bets are off. No amount of teacher preparation and educational psychology courses prepare you for a child that is your opposite. So if you are an early bird, go getter type, and just for laughs life hands you a kid that is a night owl who moves at a pace slower than molasses, I almost guarantee you will be pulling your hair out and reading every baby book you can get your hands on. You will probably be taking deep breaths and counting to 10 or screaming into a pillow until you realize that your child is a unique being with quirks and qualities all his own. For me, it’s the opposite. I tend to go about things at a slower pace. If I get upset over something I’ll kvetch for about 20 minutes until it’s out of my system and then it’s over. However, for my son he goes about life in an entirely different manner. Whoa is the person that wrongs him. This little man has gone days being mad at me but he’s also much more mischievous and strong-willed than I remember being. Over the past almost two years I’ve learned that my role as a mother is not to change my son’s temperament but to foster the one he has. It’s going to be up to me not to stifle his strong emotions but to channel it in a better way. And what about that mischievous side that somehow appears right when you’re putting on the sneakers, coat, gloves and hat but your little darling thinks this is the perfect time to test his hiding skills. I’ve learned that I don’t want to change that impish smile on my son’s face. It’s the reason I wake up in the morning. Whether I want to or not.

