It seems to be National Introvert Awareness Month. The Oprah Magazine contains an article by author Susan Cain who writes about being an introvert in her new book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking and TIME magazine’s front cover reads The Power of (Shyness). I found both articles refreshing and in an age in which reality t.v. seems to glorify loud, bombastic, “look at me” characters, there is something to be said for those that fall on the quieter end of the spectrum. By nature I definitely sway on the extroverted side. I don’t know if it’s because I’m originally from N.Y.C. or for lack of a better word come from a rather “vocal” family, but I can as easily strike up a conversation with a taxi driver as I can with a lamppost. However, after reading both articles they reiterate what I’ve always thought of introverted types. While shy folks do not feel the need to strike up conversations with lampposts, among the many strong qualities introverted people do possess, the one that I most admire is the ability to process and analyze information before they speak. The latter is a quality that I never grasped when I was younger, but now that I am older (and hopefully a little wiser) I try to emulate. And while I know that I am not a true introvert such as the fearless leader Mohandas Gandhi or quiet poet Emily Dickinson I do have a lot of introverted tendencies (I’ve always suspected this and the 2 minute quiz on page 45 of Time magazine pretty much confirmed it).
Anyhow, after reading these articles it left me wondering whether photographers are more extrovert or introvert types? I know that writers and scientists tend to be introverts, but what about you photographers out there. Do you consider yourself to be more of an introvert or an extrovert? While I immensely enjoy talking to fellow photographers about photography (why else would I have this blog?) at the end of the day the process seems, at least to me, a very solo endeavor. One in which pretty much consumes me until I get that shot I’ve been pursuing and then I want to return and share it with a few of my good friends.
So I’m curious. Do you photographers think that photography appeals to extroverts or introverts? In what category do you fall under? Let me know by sending me your thoughts? And even if you are not a photographer, but have some thoughts you would like to share, by all means let us know what they are.

