The best part about our trip to Las Vegas was visiting Red Rock Canyon. I’ve always wanted to visit the Grand Canyon but couldn’t go this time around. The trip to Red Rock Canyon was truly the next best thing. Las Vegas commercials should really advertise this national treasure. On the last day we were there my husband and I rented a car and drove the approximately 20 miles it takes to get there. Upon arrival we couldn’t believe that all this beauty was so close to the Vegas strip. Everywhere you looked were beautiful, jaw dropping, majestic mountains as far as the eye could see. We drove the 13 mile loop that allows you to stop at certain points for either a picnic, picture-taking or as we saw one couple with a baby do, go off into one of the many trails that this park has. Brave souls were this couple because as we were leaving the park a coyote just cut in front of our car. Sorry to say I don’t have a picture of the coyote. I didn’t have the proper lens to capture it, but I’m thankful I saw it from inside the car and not out of it. Anyhow next time you visit Vegas by all means try to get to Red Rock Canyon. And look out for that coyote…

All pictures © Nareen Rivas

