Sunday evening as the sun started setting I decided to drive to the parking lot of the supermarket near me (I kind of live in a valley so the parking lot is the only place within 2 minutes to get a decent view (Oh, and my husband wanted me to return a movie.) to observe this wondrous event that occurs every day. I had spent all day Saturday and the better part of Sunday just glued to my computer working on a website that I am building for my photography business. After watching endless tutorial videos for building a website, not to mention learning HTML code and on top of that learning my new Lightroom software you could say that I’ve been in boot camp for computer software. My brain needed me to take a break and like moths to a flame I ended up in the parking lot of our supermarket (sounds like I robbed a bank : ) to watch this colorful, wonderful spectacle. It was just what I needed and I’m sure that there were other people somewhere out there doing exactly what I was doing at this very moment. Basically, slowing down your thoughts, slowing down your breathing and just being in the moment instead of having to decipher some HTML code. Not to get too corny, but if you have ever watched the movie City of Angels the scene that has always stayed with me is the part when the angels all convene at the end of the day to take a break from their “heavenly duties” to watch the sun go down. Even if you don’t believe in these celestial beings I have to think that they are onto something if even they think this is the best way to spend a good 20 minutes at the end of the day. And they’re out there fighting crime right? So if it’s good enough for our heavenly guides it’s good enough for me. And it was…

All photographs © Nareen L. Rivas

