About two months ago give or take I decided that I wanted to create a photography website. Well lets just say no one has seen me since. I think Henry is about to graduate high school and I also have a vague recollection of my husband walking into the room while I was knee-deep in web design and HTML code books muttering something to the effect of, “when I hand you the divorce papers don’t be surprised?” Since I was only vaguely listening, what I heard was “divorce” and “surprised” and thought to myself, “wow, the divorce rate must keep going up. I wonder who is separating this time?” As I proceeded to try for the millionth and one time the code to remove one sentence. ONE little sentence… but onwards.

Here we are two months later and I finally finished my website. I have to give it up to the web designers and computer science geeks (I say this with the utmost affection) out there. You guys are worth your weight in gold. Learning how to put up a website was akin to taking a crash course in a new language. I really think I spent nearly any and almost all the free time I had setting up my website (so if you haven’t seen too many posts from me this is the reason why). Who knew the behind the scenes of a website had so many intricacies, but I persevered and pushed on through. You know it’s probably a good thing that I didn’t know when I started what I was getting myself into because if I had known how much work goes into creating one (especially when you don’t know the first thing about web design!) I think I would have thought twice before starting. However, now that I am done I have to say I feel a sense of accomplishment and have learned a heck of a lot. I have to give a big shout out to my husband because without him taking care of Henry on countless weekends and evenings I really couldn’t have done this. (I know, I know it’s not the Academy, but I had to use my speech at some point 😉

So without further adieu you can check out my website at http://bythelight1973.smugmug.com or click on the link at the top of the blog that reads Photography website. The site is a combination of my photographic services and also a place where my photographs can be purchased.

As for the flowers since I have been almost incognito for the past two month I thought it would be most appropriate for me to stop today and smell the roses so to speak. Hope you like them. Now let me go find my husband and ask him who was getting divorced…

