For the longest time Henry and Oliver have been asking me to make them library bags.  We almost always end up asking for plastic bags at the front desk to take the books home in, but plastic bags can be uncomfortable for little hands, not to mention it’s not good for our planet so to kick off summer reading I surprised the boys by taking them to the fabric store. I had them pick out the fabrics for their bags and a few days later got to work sewing.  To say they were happy to see their bags is an understatement.  I knew they would be glad, but Henry especially was really touched I had sewed their bags from scratch.    The look on their faces made sewing into the wee hours worth it. So not only did these library bags put a smile on their sweet little faces, but they’re also helping the planet (albeit in their own small way).  I think that’s a great way to start off summer reading.

